Vista parcial de la Biblioteca CEACS (1987)

Reunión del Committee on Western Europe del Social Science Research Council y del American Council of Learned Societies

Reunión Consejo Científico (1992)

Acto de fin de curso del Centro de Estudios Avanzados en Ciencias Sociales (CEACS) 2013

Juan José Linz. Profesor de curso 1993-94

José María Maravall y Fernando Savater en el almuerzo coloquio celebrado en CEACS

Entrega diplomas de Maestros y Doctores del CEACS (1995)

Javier García de Polavieja, Andrew Richards, José María Maravall, José Ramón Montero, Yasemin Soysal, Margaret Levi, Ignacio Sánchez-Cuenca y Adam Przeworski. Entrega diplomas de Maestros y Doctores del CEACS (2010)

Sala de trabajo de doctorandos en la biblioteca de ciencias sociales (1999)

Geoffrey Garret. Profesor de seminario. Curso 1998-99

Rafael Durán. Profesor de seminario. Curso 1997-98

The IC3JM is an Institute with mixed funding from the Juan March Foundation and the Carlos III University, and is located in the Getafe campus of this University. It was established on 1st September 2013, thanks to a collaboration agreement between the two institutions.

The IC3JM has incorporated the academic staff, activities, programmes and library of the former Centre for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences (CEACS) of the Juan March Institute. The CEACS opened in 1987 and for over 25 years offered a Master’s degree in Social Sciences for Spanish students and a programme of four year grants for students to undertake a Master’s and write a doctoral thesis. One fruit of that programme was the defence of 95 doctoral theses.

Some of the Doctoral members of the Juan March Institute are today internationally prestigious academics. Outside Spain, it is worth mentioning Pablo Beramendi (Duke University), Víctor Lapuente (University of Gothenburg), Covadonga Meseguer (London School of Economics), Laura Morales (University of Leicester), Luis de la Calle (CIDE, Mexico), Laia Balcells (Duke University), Sandra León (University of York), Rubén Ruiz Rufino (King’s College), Sonia Alonso (Georgetown University in Qatar), Ignacio Jurado (University of York) and Ferran Martínez (Griffith University). The list is very numerous within Spain, including a number of names who today represent many of the best political scientists and sociologists of their generation.

From 2007, the CEACS focused on postdoctoral research, contracting doctors from the best universities to undertake three year research projects. These included research fellows such as Noam Lupu (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Alex Kuo (Cornell University), Sabino Kornrich (Emory University), Luis de la Calle (CIDE, Mexico), Anastasia Gorodzeisky (University of Tel Aviv) and Dídac Queralt (IPEG, Barcelona).

The academic legacy and intellectual culture of the CEACS has continued in IC3JM.

Historical Collections